Skip to content

Part-time Girl

June 24, 2010

PART-TIME GIRL

Part-time girl
You know I’m living in a full-time world
I hope that someday though my paycheck’s thin
They’ll understand what a big help I’ve been
And then I’ll win

Part-time girl
You know I can’t afford to call in sick
I have no paid vacation, no insurance
No 401K, no retirement plan
I’m in a jam.

Oh, when I’m workin’ they treat me so fine
But after hours when they go out to dine
I feel so out of touch
I’m out of luck, just because

I’m a part-time girl
And I’m living in a full-time world
I’d work here full time if I had the chance
But they keep givin’ me this song and dance
About a job.

Whoa, oh, Whoa, oh

I’m a part-time girl
You know the boss has never told me why
They never ask me into their staff meetings
About new policies I’m in the dark
I pay to park.

Oh. when I’m workin’ they treat me so fine
But after hours they won’t take me to dine
Parties are off bounds to me
I’m out of luck just because

I’m a part-time girl
You know I’m living in a full-time world
I hope that someday though my paycheck’s thin
They’ll understand what a big help I’ve been
And then I’ll win.

Whoa, oh, Whoa, Oh

I’m a part-time girl
(I’m a peon at work)
I’m a part-time girl, a part-time girl
(The boss is a jerk)
I’m a part-time girl, a part-time girl
(I get no respect)
I’m a part-time girl.

Lyrics by Eileen P. Duggan
With apologies to Billy Joel and his Uptown Girl

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Candy permalink
    December 14, 2010 4:21 pm

    It’s my song! My song!
    I’m glad you posted this! I loved it when you first showed it to me almost 20 years ago. It’s still great.
    You should go on the road!

  2. Joanie from 137 Fenwick Dr. permalink
    August 22, 2010 9:18 pm

    I have been a fan of Eileen’s writing since she took pen to paper and wrote
    dozens of scripts for the old Man From U.N.C.L.E series when she had
    a major crush on Illya Kuryakin. This was back in the 60s. Actually
    I have known Eileen Duggan since the late 50s when we shared Happy
    Hollisters and Nancy Drew stories and explored Moline Creek and
    walked to St John and St James School. We had such wonderful fun
    filled summers. All good memories of those happy days.

  3. July 17, 2010 6:39 pm

    LOL… Cute! Of course, now this song will be running through my head for the rest of the day! I emailed you about the writers’ group–let me know what you think.

  4. Chris D. permalink
    June 30, 2010 8:21 am

    Wow. I didn’t know you were a closet lyricist. Funny, yet poignant.

  5. Dennis Fleming permalink
    June 24, 2010 8:55 pm

    When are you going on the road? This is funny. I know the song and singing it with these lyrics is a treat. Will you be taking on future Billy Joel tunes or will you be sneaking up on other vocal artists undeserving of your subtle attack?

Leave a Reply

